FAQs on Proper Insurance Coverage in Atlanta Georgia

The Atlanta auto accident attorneys of Kenneth S. Nugent, P.C. have extensive experience with car accidents. If you are injured in a car crash in Atlanta, or anywhere in the state, an attorney at one of our eight locations in Georgia is ready to assist you. Below, the lawyers at our firm offer answers to the following frequently asked questions about auto insurance in Georgia:

What coverage does Georgia require for car insurance?
Does having the minimum required coverage insulate me from liability in the event of an accident?
Do I need extra coverage for medical expenses arising from an accident?
What about fault in an auto accident?

What coverage does Georgia require for car insurance?

The minimum required coverage in Georgia is commonly referred to as 25/50/25 as follows:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per injured person up to a total of $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $25,000

Does having the minimum required coverage insulate me from liability in the event of an accident?
An injury victim can sue for amounts beyond the minimum policy limits. It is a good idea to carry more insurance than the minimum requirements.

Do I need extra coverage for medical expenses arising from an accident?
Medical expenses arising out of a car accident can be high and can exceed the minimum bodily injury liability amounts required by law. Additional coverage can be added onto your policy to cover medical expenses, and you can also add coverage for situations that cover injuries you suffer in a hit and run, or injuries caused by an uninsured motorist.

What about fault in an auto accident?
Georgia is a comparative negligence state. This means that if your carelessness or negligence helped cause your injury, the amount you can recover is reduced by the amount of your fault. If you are more than 50 percent at fault, then you cannot recover any damages for your injury, while the other driver can recover for damages.

We come to you—within 24–48 hours

No matter where you are—we will be at your side within 24 to 48 hours. Let Ken’s team help you with a free case review. There are several ways to contact us:

  • Fill out the case evaluation form on this page
  • Click on Chat Live above
  • Call us 24/7 at 1-888-579-1790

No matter how you contact us, we are ready to send you help.

Helping Georgia accident & injury victimsOne call, that’s all